Tues. a.m. in Auckland


We got up at 6 a.m.  Bill said there were a bunch of drunk guys “singing sailor songs” during the night down on the pier, but I didn’t hear a thing.

I don’t have too much time, as “someone” is antsy to get going & keeps asking me if my bags are ready to be put into the rental car.

We walked over to a nearby mall a bit ago, where Bill had to catch a bus in order to go over to the rental car place.  I went into Vodafone to buy an internet USB thing.  The hotel charged $10 for up to 2 hrs. last night, & I don’t want to have to keep doing that everywhere we go.  So this will work all during the NZ portion of the trip, then I can just buy another card to put in it while in Aust.  I came back to the room to get it going, but the dumb thing didn’t work.  So I had to go back to consult Brendan at Vodafone (his dark black hair looked similar to Christian Siriano’s–sticking up all over–but Brandon was much taller, not gay, & was kind of cute).  He couldn’t get it to work either, so he gave me another one.

We haven’t bought a phone here yet.  We’re looking at different options.  Sorry, Willie.

It’s raining off & on, then sunny & warm.  I hope it clears up soon.  There’s a big cruise ship (not ours) parked out by the pier right in front of our hotel this a.m.  Maybe ours will be sitting there when we get back from up north.

One more thing we’ve noticed around here.  Some of the guys wear these really funny-looking, long, square-toe shoes that point up kind of like elf shoes.  Must be the latest NZ fashion.

I’ll post a few more photos, then gotta get going!

